Calistoga Ranch …s-PET-tacular!!

calistoga-barThe Calistoga Ranch was far and away my favorite resort during our recent 13,000 mile road trip across country. I called my cousin Annie who lives in NYC and has traveled a fair bit and I said, “If anyone ever says to you, I want to take you to Calistoga Ranch, you say YES! Not, let me see if I can arrange a sitter, not when, just YES!” There were the blatantly obvious reasons for my enthusiasm; the spectacular setting – individual lodges nestled into the surrounding wine country hillside, the outrageous level of amenity in every detail from the full size (not 2 ounce sample size) scrumptious bath products custom crafted exclusively for the Calistoga Ranch, and the on-site Spa is world class! However, it was the meticulous attention to detail that really won me over! When we arrived, the valet knew Beaus name and had a biscuit in his pocket for him! The pet amenity was simple – pet bed, stainless steel bowls, a toy and treat, but it was executed with perfection! What really made me a groupie though was the fact that not only did they have a wonderful coffee maker in the room, (on the marble counter top, of course) but in addition, someone had really thought it through, “maybe not everyone drinks coffee..” and they provided a dedicated, electric tea pot, for anyone who didn’t want their tea water tasting like coffee! So thoughtful, (especially to a serial tea drinker like me) it made me feel like someone on staff had spent a week in the guest room and tried to anticipate absolutely every little thing a guest might desire.

The Calistoga Ranch in Calistoga, CA should be in that book, “1000 Places to Visit Before You Die”! They just do it right and the fact that they are pet-friendly is just icing on the cake! See the hotel feature page on PAW for pet weight and fee information and make sure to put it on your ‘to do’ list!calistoga-exterior

Go to

Leave a Reply

